Last updated: 14 August, 2013

Egypt declares curfew in Cairo and several provinces

A daily curfew slapped on Cairo and 13 other provinces by Egypt’s army-installed authorities entered into force at 7:00 pm (1700 GMT) on Wednesday.

The curfew was to run until 6:00 am (0400 GMT) daily. It applies to the provinces of Cairo, Giza, Alexandria, Beni Sueif, Menya, Assiut, Sohag, Beheira, North Sinai, South Sinai, Suez, Ismailiya, Fayoum and Qena.